Reviews

Storm Sisters: The Sinking World – Review

Storm Sisters: The Sinking World by Mintie Das

Goodreads rating: 3.09 stars
My rating: 3 stars

Synopsis: Head for the high seas on an adventure with five fearless girls!

Their name is not Storm. They are not really sisters. They will tell you, that they are fierce pirates. What will you believe?

After the tragic events of what has become known as The Day of Destruction – a day when they were intended to die along with their families – Charlie, Sadie, Liu, Raquel, and Ingela find themselves on the high seas all alone. The girls are in great danger from sinister foes and hidden enemies, and have created a false identity as a fierce group of pirates.

Their primary mission, however, is to find out what really happened to their parents. But how long will their disguise keep them from harm? And is it such a good idea to join forces with a group of rebellious boys from their past? Unusual as it is to have five teenage girls living by themselves in the 1780s, all they have left is each other and their friendship…

-Spoiler free review-

I heard about this series at YALC, and might I just say, the marketing team for this book were really good. To be perfectly honest they had me at the word ‘pirate’, but they also gave out character merch if you did a quiz to see which sister you’re most like. Cool, right?

This book has a lot of great points. The main characters are all female (which is always amazing), pirates, and they have really diverse nationalities; Norway, America, Spain, China and Trinidad and Tobago. A common thing authors do with a large cast of characters is to try and pair them all off with a love interest, but thank god Mintie Das didn’t do this (partly because the only boys are a good 2-3 years older, and one of the girls is eleven) because I kind of hate it.

The romance that was in the book wasn’t too bad. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it either. It was kind of just… there. I assume it’ll pick up in later novels, but obviously considering the large amount of POVs (point-of-views), it couldn’t really be in the spotlight.

Speaking of which- the switching of POVs was something I found to be very disagreeable. There are books such as The Young Elites or Heroes of Olympus or An Ember in the Ashes that have POV switches, and I love them, so it’s not that I have a hatred for multiple POVs. The difference between the aforementioned books and Storm Sisters is that the changes were clean cut and obvious- they would have a whole chapter dedicated to a character. But in The Sinking World, the changes weren’t defined- they just randomly switched and it created quite a jarring experience. I became confused at points, but the number of POVs actually created an interesting and unique structure. You get to read from the point of view of the villains in the story, and this helped move the storyline along.

Mintie Das’ writing style isn’t overly complex, and at times I did feel like I was reading a children’s novel, if not for the gripping plot. The childish nature may have been reinforced by the portrayal of the characters, as they bickered and argued a lot. I have to admit that it was an accurate depiction of how siblings (as they are essentially sisters) act. However I would be lying if I said it didn’t get on my nerves.

Despite any short-comings, this book was actually quite enjoyable and addictive. It’s very likely that I’ll read the sequel. If you want a quick, fun read, I recommend this book!

Leave a Reply

