Uncategorized

Best Books of 2016

Here are my favourite books that I read this year! I gave all of these books 5 stars, but I still loved some more than others.

Also I don’t have a “worst books of 2016” list, because I generally don’t read books that I don’t like? I don’t really know how I do it to be honest, but I’ll love, like, or think a book is ok. I haven’t read any that deserve the title “worst”, so thats one superlative you won’t see me using lmao. We’ll see what happens next year I guess 😉

4. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Although I haven’t written my review on this yet (lmao story of my life), I really enjoyed this! It’s the first thriller I’ve ever read, and it was so well written oh my god.

The plot and characters are so intriguing; I’d happily read another book by Hawkins.

I also absolutely need to see the film!

  1. The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

I finally read The Heroes of Olympus this year! I’m not sure whether I enjoyed them more than Percy Jackson and the Olympians, but there was so much more content in these books, and it went into detail about the Roman gods as well as the Greek.

The Mark of Athena was definitely my favourite out of the series. Annabeth is such a great character, so to have a book focusing more on her was brilliant! Also the general atmosphere of the book was really creepy (Arachne, oh my gOd no), which is always appreciated.

  1. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

Obviously a V.E. Schwab book has to be on here! I lovelovelove the Shades of Magic series, (as is evident in my gushing reviews (which can be found here: book 1, book 2)).

A Gathering of Shadows is such a fun read. The whole set up of the Games is great, and even without picking it up I was excited to read about it. The mark of a good book to me is when you can’t wait to have a chance to read some more, and that’s definitely how I felt with AGOS.

Only a few months until A Conjuring of Light! I’ve pre-ordered my copy so I make sure I get it on time.

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Honestly after my review you could probably tell that this masterpiece was going to be on my favourites list for this year. This book is absolutely stupendous.

Not only is the plot amazing, but the characters are absolutely wonderful, and Sarah’s writing stepped up to an almost ethereal level. I really don’t want this series to end (2017 is going to slay me!) but good news friends! There is going to be extra ACOTAR content! I was (and still am) so buzzed when I received that news!!

I feel like I’ve summarised the brilliance of this book fairly well, but here’s my full review if you want to know more! Oh and I also did a reading journey for ACOMAF, so here!


I am so excited to see what 2017 brings into the world of reading. There are quite a few books I’m very much looking forward to (obviously A Court of Wings and Ruin (what a title!), but also ToG6, A Conjuring of Light and Skulduggery Pleasant ‘X’!)

What are your favourite reads of 2016? What are you looking forward to? I hope we see some more wonderful debut authors next year as well!

I hope everyone has a great 2017! I know I’m not alone in this when I say I’m not sad to see the back of 2016 haha

Leave a Reply

