Reviews

A Conjuring of Light – Review

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Goodreads rating: 4.48 stars
My rating: 4 stars

Synopsis:

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

-Spoiler free review-

[Review of A Darker Shade of Magic– Book 1]
[Review of A Gathering of Shadows– Book 2]

If you’ve read my review of The Midnight Star by Marie Lu, you’ll know that I am not a huge fan of the way trilogies end, so I was extremely anxious going into this because I didn’t want to hate the ending. I loved the other two books in this series, and I didn’t want that love to be ruined by a lousy ending.

And yet.

Here I am giving it 4 stars.

I was so pleased with the way A Conjuring of Light ended. It was utterly satisfying, and all the loose ends were tied up. Well, nearly all of them. I would have liked to know what became of certain things and people, but I feel there is an extent to which V.E. Schwab could have written about them without writing a whole new book, as this one was certainly long enough (over 600 pages!).

As always, V.E. Schwab’s writing was phenomenal. She uses repetition and symbolism so well in her work; the repetition in particular creates such a wonderful atmosphere! I was also pleased that moments of the book were a little tough to read because she used some very sophisticated vocabulary. I usually pride myself on knowing some good words, but I did have to Google a few of the words used in A Conjuring of Light.

Setting and characters are two things that V.E. Schwab writes extremely well. We came across some new settings in this book, and there was one particular area that felt completely and utterly magical. The description was so vivid that, and this sounds cliché but, I truly felt like I was there, beside the characters, experiencing it all. The way she writes the characters’ voices is especially well done, and the characters themselves were developed even further in this book, with some exploration into their past.

Something about A Conjuring of Light that did infuriate me a lot was the incessant POV changes. If you don’t know, POV stands for point-of-view, and it is becoming increasingly common in fantasy books to have multiple POVs. I have nothing against this personally, but when it switches between a large cast of characters in almost every new chapter, it becomes extremely frustrating. A Conjuring of Light has a ridiculously large list of characters with their own chapters. I’ve counted it to be around 12, although some of these characters have only one to two chapters throughout the whole book. I feel like I wouldn’t be so bothered about this if I liked and cared about all 12 of those characters, but I absolutely don’t. And on top of that, only about seven of them are actually important and add something interesting to the storyline!

This is why I knocked off a star for this book. Everything else about A Conjuring of Light was brilliant, I just wish that V.E. Schwab had had a little more control when exploring her characters. To be fair, it became less and less infuriating as the book went on, so if you push through to the 40-50% marker, know that it will ease up from that point on.

I have a few V.E. Schwab books on my TBR to keep me satisfied now that the Shades of Magic series is over, but I will absolutely miss this world. Especially Lila, she’s one of my favourite characters.


 

Hiya everyone!

Just wanted to share a quick word to say thank you to everyone who has read/commented on my posts and followed me! I’ve had this blog for just over a year now (crazy stuff), and I’m excited to continue posting more content. Thank youuu!

Leave a Reply

